Landscape Protection and Restoration

Posted: Apr 6, 2010

Antiquities Act

The Antiquities Act of 1906, codified with amendments at 16 U.S.C. §§ 431-33 (2008), allows the president to issue proclamations designating land as national monuments. Such monuments are permanent and can be made without congressional or citizen input...

Conservation Easements

A conservation easement is a voluntary, but legally enforceable, agreement in which a landowner agrees to restrict future use or development on his or her property in order to achieve conservation goals. Conservation might include preservation of wildlife habitat, agricultural land, or an historic site, or protection of scenic views and open space. The agreement is typically made with a governmental entity or non-governmental organization like a land trust. That party is then responsible for enforcing the restrictions—seeing that the landowner follows the agreement... 

National Parks System

The National Park Service (“NPS”), a bureau of the U.S. Department of the Interior, manages national parks and related areas in accordance with federal law and regulation, presidential proclamation, and legal precedent... 

Wilderness Act

In 1964, the United States Congress enacted the Wilderness Act that creating a new land classification to preserve wild lands in their natural state. In that legislation, establishing the National Wilderness Preservation System, the Congress immediately designated 54 areas (9.1 million acres) in 13 states as Wilderness, and directed the Secretaries of the Interior and Agriculture to survey their lands (but not including Bureau of Land Management Lands) for other areas that could be added to the wilderness system. To protect these lands in a natural state, the Wilderness Act prohibits many activities that would impair the areas' wilderness character, but does not limit activities such as hunting and fishing.

Copyright © 2019 Red Lodge Clearinghouse. All rights reserved.